Go Down

Topic: Water leak detection (Read 2489 times) previous topic - next topic

Jason-K

Hi everyone.
First of all, I should mention that I'm a newbie to the world of arduino's/programming in general, but have an electronics background.
I have been given the task of developing a tool to detect excessive water usage (in the form of water leaks) and provide early notification should such be detected.

The property is a holiday resort(family owned) with over 200 sites, that has had issues with extremely large water bills in the past (in the order of $40,000, well over 4 times the usual water consumption).

My idea is to utilise a water flow sensor (most probably hall effect type) in the main water supply pipe, count the cycles and average it over the last 24 hours. If the average is excessively high, an email alert will be sent to the manager to investigate.

The hardware I will be using is the Freetronics EtherTen (embedded ethernet and SD).

Now I believe I have all the info I need to get the arduino to send the email, including ethernet library etc...but I have hit a brick wall in the actual pulse counting and average calculation. I have seen some examples that just count the pulses and print to serial port, but I can't really get any further than that.

Any help regarding direction, or any other ways to achieve the outcome would be very much appreciated.

Jason

lemming

Apr 09, 2012, 10:00 am Last Edit: Apr 09, 2012, 10:03 am by lemming Reason: 1
I assume that you are using commercial water flow meters. If this is the case they state in their data sheets how many litres pass through the meter per tick (or pulse). You could thus report the actual volume used per hour using millis().

You would need to connect the output of the water meter to one of the hardware interrupt pins of the Arduino (and use attachInterrupt()) so as not to miss any pulses.

Once you have detected excess usage will the manager go around 200 sites checking for wastage?