Go Down

Topic: Best way to drive a 12V DC solenoid valve (Read 17539 times) previous topic - next topic

sta

Jul 28, 2008, 11:56 am Last Edit: Jul 28, 2008, 11:56 am by sta Reason: 1
I'm a complete newbee when it comes to electronics, so I need a little help here.

I have a 12V DC solenoid valve, that draws 450 mA at max. I want to be able to control this valve from the Arduino. I guess I can't draw this much current directly from the Arduino, so I have to go through some kind of relay, correct?

What relay should I look for? 5V DC -> 12V DC? Do I need any other components or can I simply hook up the relay to a digital pin + GND on the Arduino board, and the valve on the other side of the relay?

mem

Jul 28, 2008, 12:20 pm Last Edit: Jul 28, 2008, 12:21 pm by mem Reason: 1
Using the keywords: [glow]arduino solenoid  [/glow]in google bring up a number of relevant links including these:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/Learning/solenoid_driver.pdf
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/SolenoidTutorial

Grumpy_Mike

dnear1

Jul 29, 2008, 02:06 am Last Edit: Jul 29, 2008, 02:08 am by dnear1 Reason: 1
I used a 2n3904 or a 2n2222a transistor with a 1k resistor from base to the output pin on the arduino.  Emittor to Ground, + direct to the solenoid and collector to second wire from solenoid.  These are NPN style.. You can also use a PNP style and just reverse ground and +12v on the ends.

This will supply up to 500ma with standard to-93 transistor.. There are other transistors to use if you need more current..  Or you could just 'double up' the transistors.

sta

Thank you for the information, it was a great help. I now got it all set-up and it actually works as well.

sta

I have to throw in another Qustion:

What are the cons and pros of using a transistor vs a relay solution for driving the valve?

AP