Go Down

Topic: Error message: avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00 (Read 4 times) previous topic - next topic

Asger81

Jun 24, 2012, 09:14 am Last Edit: Jun 24, 2012, 03:53 pm by Asger81 Reason: 1
Hi guys

First of all, Im a noob, so bare with me.

I Just recieved my Arduino yesterday, and have spent all day trying to find a solution for the "avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00" error message.   :~
I know there is a lot of subjects in the forum about this already, but none of the solutions have seemed to work for me.

I run a Windows 64-bit computer and the arduino is a Duemilanove ATmega328.

I followed the tutorial on this site on how to get started. When I plugged in my Arduino board, the drivers where successfully installed automatically.
When I check my devices. It says, that it is working proberly and is on COM3.

I made sure to choose the right board and com port in the software.
I also tried resetting the board manually, before/ and during upload (even though what I read suggests the duemilanove has an automatic re-set function yes?)

But when I press upload the following happens (been trying with the blink example sketch):

the RX blinks 3 times, then a pause for approx 10 sec. then the red L13 will be blinking continously.

The bar in the bottom writes:

Uploading...
Binary sketch size: 1.084 bytes (of a 30.720 byte maximum

and then (with verbose output enabled):

Done uploading
Binary sketch size: 1.084 bytes (of a 30.720 byte maximum)
C:\Users\Asger\Documents\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\Users\Asger\Documents\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -carduino -P\\.\COM3 -b57600 -D -Uflash:w:C:\Users\Asger\AppData\Local\Temp\build857580504558195651.tmp\Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch