Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Help with Sparkfun RGB Matrix  (Read 1193 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey everyone smiley I just received an RGB matrix with the SPI backpack from Sparkfun and I need help figuring out how to use it. Currently, I have it hooked up to my Arduino Duemilanove as follows:
SPI Input:
MOSI -> Pin 11
CS -> Pin 10
SCLK -> Pin 13

SPI Output:
MISO -> Pin 12
Gound -> Ground

I ran the test code located in the Arduino playground and every time, I just get some random combination of blue, green, and red lights. To my understanding, that's not whats supposed to happen so correct me if I'm wrong. I've programmed with the Arduino before but just basic things (flashing lights, countdown timers, and motion sensors) so I'm really new to this matrix. If anybody could write up a basic tutorial or point me to one, I would really appreciate it.
(Not sure if this is in the right area so sorry if its not)

Connecticut, US
Edison Member
Whatduino
View Profile

Did it come with any datasheets?  The stock datasheet on their site suggests you really need a bit of decoupling for the power to the board (since current draw will change by quite a bit as you change the lights).  It doesn't explicitly say if the SPI lines need pullups, but look for other SPI typical applications to see if that's required.

Arduino rocks
View Profile

It turns out that the backpack that is displayed on Sparkfun's webpage and datasheet does not match mine. The one that I have has SPI input on one side and SPI output on the other side. All pins are the same on each side (GND, MOSI, CS, SCLK, VCC, VCC) except for MISO instead of MOSI on the output side. Now, if I were to use a resistor, which pin would I hook it up to? I have looked in SOOOO many places and can't find any help. Let me know if you need any pics, would be glad to post some.
Oh, and no, it didn't come with any datasheets strangely.