Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Keyboard/mouse controller for ThinkPad X41 keyboard  (Read 3865 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would like to connect a ThinkPad X41 keyboard with TrackPoint via USB, with the help of an Arduino. Some facts:

• I've never used an Arduino before, and neither am I an electronics guy. While I know some basics, and I've used a soldering iron in the past, I am mostly a programmer, capable of writing code close to hardware.
  • The connector has 40 pins. (I am still looking for a suitable socket.)
  • The TrackPoint (mouse) on the keyboard already generates PS/2 signals.
  • I want to be able to configure the TrackPoint using proprietary PS/2 commands directly from the Arduino, on certain key combinations. Made up example: FN-F2 = increase sensitivity

Questions, under the assumption that this is feasible:

• Which Arduino should I chose?
  • I saw that some Arduinos, such as the Leonardo, can be used as HID via USB. However, when looking at the library functions, I see for example no method to send mouse scroll commands. Could I add methods myself, i.e. somehow bit-bang the USB connection?
  • How do I get started? My idea is to put something in between the keyboard and the laptop, and then use a multimeter to measure the signals that get emitted when a key is pressed. Only afterwards, I would connect the keyboard to the Arduino.

(There are ready-made ThinkPad keyboards for USB, but I'm not interested in those.)
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 10:47:46 am by feklee » Logged

Switzerland
Faraday Member
View Profile

Which Arduino should I chose?

Probably a Mega2560 to read the whole Keyboard. You can program the ATmega16U2 on the board to do the same as the Leonardo is doing, you just have to define a serial protocol between them. You can try a Leonardo with some additional hardware (shift-in/-out registers may work) but be prepared that this gets a bit more complex.