Go Down

Topic: High speed pulse counting? (Read 32643 times) previous topic - next topic

jondecker76

Hello
I am new to Arduino, but I'm a very experienced programmer.
A couple of years ago, I made my own PLC controller for my induction wind turbine.  I am now interested in making a microcontroller for my wind turbine and so I have a few questions:

I would like to interface with a 500 pulse per revolution rotary encoder (24v, so I will use an optoisolator). In my current PLC controller, I had to purchase a special "high speed" card to accomplish this (very expensive!). Considering that I need to measure up to 2200 RPM @ 500 PPR, this means that I need to count up to almost 20,000 pulses per second. I'm assuming that this will be hard to do with the Arduino.
I am willing to change encoders to a lower PPR count - but was wondering what anyone though the maximum PPR (pulse per revolution) encoder value should be?

Also, I'm not sure of main loop resolution on an average program (how many ms/us between iterations of the loop - my Arduino is still on its way so I can't test for myself yet). I am wondering if it is fast enough that I can use a standart input pin, or if I should use an interrupt.  Any advice on this would be appreciated as well!

thanks!

mpeuser

Sep 07, 2010, 08:37 pm Last Edit: Sep 07, 2010, 08:38 pm by mpeuser Reason: 1
I  made some experiments the other day having to do with generating pulses of around 80 kHz. This is possible with timer interrupts of 12us.

The "loop" as such is very fast, as there is nothing happening outside the loop - it's kind of a fake  ;)

Your application is just edge counting, where - counters are made for (nothing to do with interrupts!).

You might use this library for it
http://interface.khm.de/index.php/lab/experiments/arduino-frequency-counter-library/

timmyw

I would look into using either a prescaler or an external counter.