Go Down

Topic: 3-Wire Strain Gauge (Read 9705 times) previous topic - next topic

nickvd

Hello!

I have decided to make by next project, and need some assistance...  I picked up a cheap digital scale from XScargo ($9.99).  After tearing into it, I discovered 4 strain gauges, one per corner.  During the course of my searches on how to interface them to the UC I could not come up with any explanations on how to wire up a strain gauge that has 3 wires, only 4 wires.  My electronics knowledge is entirely self taught, so there is a VERY large chance that I've just missed something simple.

Any ideas?  (i need roughly 70lbs and accuracy isn't all that vital; its to measure the level of propane in a heater)

Grumpy_Mike

Normally a 3 wire sensor is just wired up like a potentiometer, with a center tap and two ends. You wire the ends to a supply + & - and the sensor output is the center tap. You usually put this into one input of a differential amplifier with a simple potential divider into the other input.
Think of it as half a Wheatstone bridge.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheatstone_bridge

nickvd

Nov 09, 2010, 12:41 am Last Edit: Nov 09, 2010, 12:46 am by nickvd Reason: 1
So then it is possible that my multimeter and (cheap diy scope) are just not sensitive enough to detect the changes... I knew about the amp requirement, but just assumed that I would at least be able to check via multimeter prior to building an amp... (i tested it with both 3 and 5v since the scale is run from a single CR2032).

I will likely have a few chips laying around that could do it... Any ideas which? :D (heh, I have no idea what I have).

That being said, there is a ready made pcb inside that ties all 4 of the gauges to a single 4 pin daughter board (using a single 1x4 header which is soldered onto the main board), so I'm anticipating a very easy hook up :)

nickvd