Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Help With BBQ Smoker Temperature Control Project  (Read 6813 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I'm new to the Arduino land and small electronics in general and am looking for some help/validation from you knowledgeable folks out there.  I'm constructing a BBQ smoker and plan to use the Ardunio to control the temperature, with two temperature probes as input (meat and pit) and a 1500w heating element.

The smoker is approximately 60"x26"x18" with an aluminum frame, sheet metal doors and sides with high-temp insulation.  The heating element will be placed at the bottom of the smoker.

So far I've purchased the Uno and got it up and running and reading the temperature from one of the probes via analog input.  I've read a bunch about controlling 120V AC via the Arduino and it sounds like for my application a SSR is the way to go.  1500W / 120V = 12.5 amps, so I'm thinking I need at least a 15 amp relay, maybe 20 or 25 to be safe?

I know the community generally frowns upon a noobie attempting a project involving AC so any recommended input, reading materials, safety precautions, etc would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Sorry couldn't put links in first post, but some references I'm using are http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forum/thread/90085/the-how-to-for-making-an-arduino-controlled-smoker and http://hruska.us/tempmon/.

For the relay I was thinking something like this or this maybe?

Manchester (England England)
Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

maybe 20 or 25 to be safe?
Yes defiantly, an SSR is very unforgiving of over current and while your heating element might be a certain value when it is hot, it is a much lower resistance when it is cold and so likely to take a lot more surge current. I would suggest you measure the DC resistance when cold.