Go Down

Topic: Arduino on breadboard problems (Read 7561 times) previous topic - next topic

kntx

Sep 25, 2010, 02:12 pm Last Edit: Sep 25, 2010, 02:19 pm by kntx Reason: 1
Hello guys!

I'm a newbie in the Arduino world, and I made a choice I'm starting to regret: building my arduino on a breadboard.

I bought 2 AtMega328 preloaded with bootloader and a USB to Serial with FT232R chip, and followed the standalone instructions from http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone

I also added  the autoreset feature by using a 0.1uF capacitor between DTR and reset pin of the AtMega328.

After setting all up, the led connected to PB5 (arduino pin 13) blinks.

The problem is that I can't get a connection between the Arduino IDE and the atmega, neither using the manual switch to reset nor the autoreset. Also this happens with both the AtMega328.

WITH UBUNTU 10.04
Fresh install, unistalled brltty and installed the arduino package from the ppa as stated in the ubuntu instructions.

This is what happens:
Code: [Select]
Binary sketch size: 896 bytes (of a 30720 byte maximum)
avrdude -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -carduino -P/dev/ttyUSB0 -b57600 -D -Uflash:w:/tmp/build7017198197249163195.tmp/Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.10, compiled on Mar 23 2010 at 15:03:00
        Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean
        Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is "/etc/avrdude.conf"
        User configuration file is "/home/ubuntu/.avrduderc"
        User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

Using Port                    : /dev/ttyUSB0
        Using Programmer              : arduino
        Overriding Baud Rate          : 57600
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

avrdude done.  Thank you.

WITH VISTA

Installed the newest ftdi drivers from the website. Donwloaded latest arduino (0019). Disabled antivirus and firewall.