Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: LCD inter-character delay needed  (Read 1651 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was surprised to find that lcd.print("some text") gave me garbage on the screen. After some experimentation, I found that I needed to provide a delay after each character, about 40 us, like so:

#define LCD_DELAY_CURSOR 40
#define LCD_DELAY_CHAR 40

void WriteLCDLine(int Row, char* Text)
{
  lcd.setCursor(0, Row);
  delayMicroseconds(LCD_DELAY_CURSOR);
  int i = 0;
  while (Text != 0)
  {
    lcd.print(Text[i++]);
    delayMicroseconds(LCD_DELAY_CHAR);
  }
}

I'm new to Arduino, running a DueMilaNove board with an Optrex DMC20481, which has a HD44780 controller, 4x20 screen, 4-bit mode. Arduino 0012 Alpha.

Is there a tweak to the underlying library to set delay?

How can I see what the library is actually doing?

Austin, TX USA
God Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile

jkh--

All the source code to the libraries can be found in hardware/libraries[/LiquidCrystal] in your main Arduino installation folder.  If you want to tweak the code, just edit the .cpp and delete the LiquidCrystal.o file in that same folder.  The Arduino IDE will rebuild it automatically!

Mikal

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Thanks for the pointer, Mikal. I don't want to customize lib code; I just want to see what's going on. Maybe there's a bug to report.

So I looked at LiquidCrystal.h and .cpp, and find that there is no print function defined or implemented there. That is confusing, because the compiler accepts lcd.print("text"). So where is it?

Next point. LiquidCrystal::send is what does the actual port writing. It has no delays. Perhaps there should be an optional parameter to the function, or a #define, or some other option for setting a delay.