Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: HMC5843 lib update  (Read 5034 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok after getting this little HMC stamp, and after adding a cap otherwise it didn't work properly, i modified/extended the HMC lib to get it easy going.
The output values of the HMC need to be scaled, as the documentation describes, the new calibrate function does just that. The output values are scaled after calibration but still just a vector so for yaw pitch and stuff you need some calculations.

Lib: http://www.filejumbo.com/Download/A0733DDFF58B4FCE

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Is your library just written for arduino mega boards since you include twi.h in HMC.h file? I am new to programming so I might be wrong! If yes how do I adopt the code to an arduino uno board or are no modifications needed?

Thanks in advance!

Torino, Italy
Arduino rocks
View Profile

I've been able to use the above library correctly also on my Arduino Duemilanove.. so an Arduino Mega is not needed.

Unfortunately tough I'm experiencing some problems.. the reading seems quite random.. Don't know how to check them..

How do I put the sensor for correct calibration?

Torino, Italy
Arduino rocks
View Profile

Looking at the calibration routine in the library it seems that there isn't needed to put the device in a particular position.. it seems it does the calibrations without need to move it.

I plotted the X and Y while rotating the device in 360 deg.. this is the output: http://forum.sparkfun.com/download/file.php?id=693&t=1

Not bad, I would say..

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Hi,
I just bought that little monster.
Is your plot taken before or after calibration?

Andreas

Torino, Italy
Arduino rocks
View Profile

Hi newbee! The readings which created that plot have been created using the above library. If you look at the code in the library you'll see that calibration is done during setup() ..