Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Using Arduino to program my pic  (Read 4388 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'v been searching around to find a solution that allows me to use my arduino to program a pic.

Any solutions og partial solution out there?
Any tips to helpe me in the tight direction?

Im a beginner to microcontrollers so i cant figure this out my selfe.

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

What pic do you want to program?

Arduino rocks
View Profile

pic 16F648a

Arduino rocks
View Profile

If its possible to come up with a solution for icsp that can cope with different pics its greate

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Figgured I have to explane more precicely what I'm trying to accomplish.

The reason I'm trying to use my arduino as pic programmer is because i want use the arduino usb connection so that i'm able to program pics using USB.

If this aint possible fore the pic16F648a it dos not matter realy. I just want to be able to program som kind og pic.

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Faraday Member
Where's the beer?
View Profile

If you're a beginner to microcontrollers, why are you trying to run before you can walk?

You're asking the equivalent of "Hey guys, I'm new to auto mechanics, and I have never changed my own oil, but I want to swap my engine out - can you tell me how to do this?".

If you are new to micro-controllers, I would suggest you start out by playing with the Arduino, learning what it can do and how to do it. You didn't say whether you had any knowledge of electronics, but if you do, once you get the hang of the Arduino, and review its capabilities, and find out what you need to do to program a PIC, then you may be able to figure out how to do so (hmm - a PIC programming shield might be interesting).

Then move on to the PIC and play with that, with the knowledge you have gained from using the Arduino and interfacing to various circuits.

Good luck in your efforts!