Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduputer - pushing the arduino to the limit  (Read 1274 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have resently been working on a project for the arduino, called Arduputer. With the project i intended to see how much the arduino could do. The current sketch is about 13kB.

On the arduputer I have several programs including a text editor, a simple ocilloscope and a program that shows available ram on the Arduputer.

I have modified the Ps2 keyboard library and the GLCD. In the GLCD library I added a routine for showing a picture. I used Bitmap2LCD for converting it from bmp to bitmap. The routine is a little wired  so if you are going to convert a bitmap yourself, the settings are.

Paging Scheme vertical downwards
Most significant bit last
Origin corner top left

The project is licensed under gpl.

Source code can be downloaded http://cid-2f5b47d76e2e632f.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/.Public/Arduputer.zip.

Here is a demo video.


[edit]The arduputer code is now inside the .zip file
it also contains a 3d cube I got from http://www.pyrofersprojects.com/blog/?page_id=3
[/edit]
« Last Edit: April 18, 2009, 08:49:14 am by jossi » Logged

Visit my blog and see my fantastic robot

Norway
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 370
R-Doo-Inoo in the making :3
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

looks interesting smiley
Logged

B-dui in creation.

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Very interesting! For how long did you work with the project?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I didn't work more than about two weekends with the project it self, but i used much code I had worked on before.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 12:52:07 pm by jossi » Logged

Visit my blog and see my fantastic robot

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 28
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Very nice project!
Logged

France
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
french Arduino
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

it's me ? or your arduputer.pde, in wour ZIP file is empty ?

philippe
« Last Edit: April 18, 2009, 04:24:02 am by phd0 » Logged

London, England
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 4
Posts: 1026
Go! Go! Arduinoooo !!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So have you actually put Linux onto the chip or did you just use the Linux penguin as a graphic?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just put Tux the penguin on there as graphics.  
Logged

Visit my blog and see my fantastic robot

London, England
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 4
Posts: 1026
Go! Go! Arduinoooo !!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I see. Cool project btw. Why not get a PSP colour LCD screen and go the whole hog? The amount of memory on the new 328 chips should be mroe than enough to put an OS onto.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I think that woud be hard, because I don't think the PSP Display have an internal memory. The ram reqired for such a display wood be way more than the arduino has.
Logged

Visit my blog and see my fantastic robot

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: