Go Down

Topic: EFI Arduino Lawn Mower Conversion (Read 18845 times) previous topic - next topic

Jhark

This is my first project with an Arduino board, I am Hooked :)
Well, I got tired of messing with the carb every season.  So I walked over to my Oldsmobile Van and poped a fuel injector out of the fuel rail along with the wires.
Drill and tap the intake of the lawn mower and installed the GM Injector. Now the carb is a thottle body.

I used a ULN2003 IC Chip to drive the injector, and a pot to change the pulse width.  The mower started on the first try and after 3 code adjustments it would idle smoothly using 5ms injector pulses with 20ms between each pulse. I tied a pot to the govner to monitor throttle position. When the govner moves addind air, the adruino responds by increasing the pulse width keeping the fuel mixture correct.

It has never ran better then this... even when it was new..LOL
The LCD displays real time data for the injector and govner, and  will alow for easy trouble shooting (if needed) in the future. The operator panel has a fine tune fuel trim to adjust the mixture on the fly.

The other hose that is now pluged is my failed attempt to use a MAP sensor.. Overall the mower runs great through out the entire throttle range and responds to load conditions correctly. I have not figured out if it will be more or less efficient on fuel. If I had to guess I don't think I will notice any change. In a day or two I should have the control box mounted on the mower, so I can take it out on a complete test (Cut the grass).

-- Joe

george_graves

You are my new hero.  How are you "tuning" the amount of fuel?  I'm almost surprised to see that you didn't add a narrow band 02 sensor in there!

Jhark