Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Communication between Arduinos  (Read 3566 times)
Sweden
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have been trying to make a simple program to test communication between two arduinos. I have connected the RX/TX-pins and also ground. I have programmed one of the arduinos to send 1 och 2 (DEC) with a 1 or 2 second delay in between. The second arduino is programmed to light the led on pin 13 if it receives a 1, and to turn it off if it receives a 2.

The TX-light is blinking on the "sender", butnothing happens on the "receiver. Since i have not yet been able to get my hands on any external power-supply for the arduinos, i have them both connected to my computer via the USB. (The arduinos are Arduino NG's btw). I have also noticed that i cannot upload the programs to the arduinos if they are connected together. I must disconnect them from eacother everytime.

I'm a total electronics newbie, so maybe I'm making some obvious mistake here?
Does it matter wether i connect the ground at the power connections (bottom of the board) or the GND pin next to digital pin13?

Does anyone have any suggestions? I could upload my code here as well, but it's on my home computer, and i'm not there at the moment. If you wish i could upload it when i get home.

Edit: Added a picture:
« Last Edit: December 05, 2006, 08:38:45 am by Pinky » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Faraday Member
View Profile

I assume you connected the RX on one board to the TX of the other, and vice-versa (not TX to TX and RX to RX).  Can you post your code?  It's possible one side is using ASCII and the other is using binary.  

Sweden
View Profile

yes, the TX on one is connected to RX on the other one, and vice versa. I will upload the code when i get home.

Sweden
View Profile

Ok, i rewrote the code quickly, it's a little different than the one i tried at home i beleive, but i get the exact same problem anyway.

Sender code:
Code:
int a = 1;