Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: How to get started designing and ordering PCBs?  (Read 2389 times)
Colorado
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've been reading about forum members designing their own PCBs and then ordering them from somewhere. Some things I've read mention Eagle Files, which is suppose is from the CAD software.

Is there a tutorial or website I can visit to learn all about it?

Are you ordering from one or two places to have the boards made up, where service and pricing is good?

Thanks in advance for any direction.

Jake

Toronto, Canada
View Profile

I just did this for the first time last month, and while I'm no expert I'll try my best to help you out.

There are a lot of pretty amazing tutorials one can find with a bit of googling, but my personal favorite can be found here: http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/108

Eagle is a CAD software that can be used to design the pcb you need, after which you process these files in Eagle to create Gerber files (raw instructions for the machine making the pcb).

You then send these Gerber files to the manufacturer. After searching around the best pricing I could find for a single pcb was at http://myropcb.com/ ; they had decent service, and the board quality was great.

USA, FL
God Member
A life? Where can I download one of those?
View Profile

If you are just getting started, I would recommend Fritzing.  It is the easiest way to lay out your design.  It has a Breadboard view, Schematic view, and a PCB view.  Mostly it's beginner friendly.  Fritzing lets you export your files to Gerber Files that most manufacturers use to make the PCB.

As for as PCB manufacturer houses, OSH Park has the best prices but takes around a month to get your PCB back.  Also they only have purple boards.  But by far the cheapest.  Down side is that you have to buy 3 copies of your board.  

//LiNK

View Profile