Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Error : avr-gcc: CreateProcess: No such file or ..  (Read 9988 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello!
I have installed the Arduino software on 2 PC Windows XP everything works very well.
At the third PC I receive the following error:

avr-gcc: CreateProcess: No such file or directory

Couldn't determine
program size: C:\Documents and
Settings\xxxxx\Documenti\Arduino\arduino-
0014\hardware\tools\avr\bin\avr-size: 'C:\Documents and
Settings\xxxxx\Documenti\Arduino\arduino-
0014\examples\Digital\Blink\applet\Blink.hex': No such file

avrdude:
can't open input file C:\Documents and
Settings\xxxxx\Documenti\Arduino\arduino-
0014\examples\Digital\Blink\applet\Blink.hex: No such file or directory

avrdude: write to file 'C:\Documents and
Settings\xxxxx\Documenti\Arduino\arduino-
0014\examples\Digital\Blink\applet\Blink.hex' failed


Help me please !!!!  :-[
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Does it have the GCC_EXEC_PREFIX variable set?  You should be able to check by running:

echo %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX%

from a command shell (cmd.exe).


Moderator edit: space removed.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 12:31:15 am by Coding Badly » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

C:\>echo %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX%
c:\progra~1\egcs\lib\gcc-lib\


      
I have removed and ... Solved!
thank you very much!  smiley-wink

but ... Who has set this variable?
Arduino setup?

Sorry for my bad english !  :-[
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 01:42:58 am by zaio73 » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Arduino doesn't set that variable (or any others).  It was probably an old version of GCC (for compiling programs to run on the computer).
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi!
I'm a new Arduino user.
I have exactly the same problem.
So I tried on another pc I have and it doesn't show this message.
On the Pc where I have this error message, I think I have installed cygwin, not sure.
Anyway when I type echo %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX%, it returns %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX%

Any idea of how to fix this?

Cole
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ps: indeed I have cygwin installed, maybe that causes conflicts?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I removed the path to  c:\cygwin\bin
but still doesn't work...
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

re:
well I removed this path and then reboot
and now it works
I assume, this system environmement path was causing conflict.
If someone can confirm?

Cole
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've installed Arduino-0016 on a laptop with XP sp 2 and get these errors as the threadstarter has.

avr-gcc: CreateProcess: No such file or directory


echo %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX% returns %GCC_EXEC_PREFIX%

Hasn't installed cygwin either.

Any ideas?
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you run avr-gcc from the command line (cmd.exe)?  Try cd'ing into the Arduino directory and then running: hardware\tools\avr\bin\avr-gcc
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well.
I installed Linux Mint 6 on my old laptop instead of windows and everything works great!

 smiley-grin

Just figure out how to program the PIC's , but that is another problem and another forum.  smiley
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I have got to exactly the same stage that NightTux describes in post#8 above, and would like to continue troubleshooting - I'd be most grateful for any help you can give.

I can certainly run the command specified in post #9:

D:\PROGRA~1\ARDUIN~1>hardware\tools\avr\bin\avr-gcc
avr-gcc: no input files


I suspect I am supposed to add a makefile as a parameter. Which is where I run out of train track. :-?

I am attempting to build a PDE file*

If I attempt to build it in the arduino(0017) IDE, I get the error message about CreateProcess..

Using the gnu compiler outside of the IDE is beyond my current skills. That probably means I need to RTFM. If you could point me to which F*in Manual I should Read, that would be great.

thanks

* ("coordinates.pde in the optimouse library by Martijn The" - oh yeh http://www.martijnthe.nl/2009/07/interfacing-an-optical-mouse-sensor-to-your-arduino/ :-[)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 09:14:40 am by leederKrenon » Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 610
Posts: 49071
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Now that you've made your first post, you can edit it to provide the link.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

aha - progress. The problem was solved by adding the line

#include "WProgram.h"

to one of the header files included by the program.
Thanks to Martijn for helping with this.
Logged

Vancouver, Canada
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Howdy, new to the forums, just wanted to say that I encountered the same error msg at compile time. Running XP tablet SP2, arduino-0017 fresh install. My solution was to delete the reference to "GCC_EXEC_PREFIX" from autoexec.bat and remove it from the system variables list under system properties. Good luck.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: