Interested in meteorite lab project?

Hello, creative people--
I work in a lab at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, where we house (and study) one of the world’s largest collections of meteorites. One of the ways which chondritic meteorites -- ones composed of little bits of different materials embedded in a matrix -- are prepared for analysis is by repeatedly freezing and thawing samples, to fracture apart the different components. (These are the types of meteorites which sometimes contain amino acids and other complex organics, and often contain grains of material which are older than our solar system itself.)
We currently do this process manually; freezing a container of material in liquid nitrogen, and then thawing it in a warm water bath. This might continue for one or two hundred (boring) cycles, monitoring temperature along the way. It seems to me that this is prime for automation.
I have good skills with the lathe, drill & mill, and have a basic plan in mind of how to engineer a setup with a Peltier cooler, to alternately freeze and thaw a small sample. But I don’t have any experience with Arduino controllers, nor, to be honest, the time right now to learn from scratch.
Would anybody (with appropriate Arduino experience) be interested in teaming up on this project? It would be “for the good of science” -- i.e., no pay involved. I’ll purchase any needed materials (and do already have fairly well stocked parts boxes), and do the actual construction, but I’d need help with designing the circuitry, and doing the programming. (If a partner in the project was located somewhere around Chicagoland, I could arrange for a behind-the-scenes tour at the Museum, if we successfully get a working apparatus going there.)
If you are interested, I’d be happy to start a conversation offline; just post here with your thoughts, and we’ll take it from there.
Drew