Audio frequency generation on AtTiny85

I'm looking for a simple way to generate audio frequencies with an AtTiny85, so it plays an continuous sound (e.g. at 440hz) when an digital Input is pulled to ground. I found an frequency generation sketch in the playground that is described as simple, it also works on an AtTiny but seems to consist mostly of floating point math. And that's a little bit too hard for me since I am a bloody beginner in audio generation :~ .

Try software DDS, essentially an array.

Didn't quite finish it here.

Say that you want to generate a 400hz sine wave. Store that information in a 256 array.

Set up a timer that trips every 1/(400*256) = 10us. In the isr, increment an accumulator and output the value in the array indexed by that accumulator.

You are done.

If you point the array to other waveforms, you can generate any waveforms as you like.

256 points are a lot for even a good quality wave form. If you want to generate faster signal, you can go to 128, 64 or even 32 points, or simply change the increment to the accumulator.

The output can be anything, a r2r network, or dac or a digital pot.

Is tone() an option? OP didn't specify a sine wave.

In the event of square waves, you can use software or hardware pwm (50 percent duty cycle).

Hardware pwm can generate signals well into the Mhz.

I want to generate pwm signal using analogwrite() in ARDUINO KIt 1.0 .I cant able to identify the pin which generates plsese help me

prash:
I want to generate pwm signal using analogwrite() in ARDUINO KIt 1.0 .I cant able to identify the pin which generates plsese help me

Have you had a look at the doc? Might have something about pins there.

dhenry:
Didn't quite finish it here.

Say that you want to generate a 400hz sine wave. Store that information in a 256 array.

Set up a timer that trips every 1/(400*256) = 10us. In the isr, increment an accumulator and output the value in the array indexed by that accumulator.

You are done.