adding serial commands to code for remote control

i am a noob and i have some code for my motors but i need help adding serial commands to it so i can transmit from one arduino to another for remote control of motors. could someone please help get me started in the right direction for both the transmitter and receiver, i would greatly appreciate the help.

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 64;

Stepper pan(stepsPerRevolution, 8,10,9,11); 
Stepper tilt(stepsPerRevolution, 3,5,4,6);

void setup() {

pan.setSpeed(300);
  tilt.setSpeed(300):
}

void loop() {

int sensorReading = analogRead(A0); // X-axis

if (sensorReading < 300) { pan.step(2); }   // left
  if (sensorReading > 800) { pan.step(-2); }  // right

int sensorReading2 = analogRead(A1); // Y-axis

if (sensorReading2 < 300) { tilt.step(2); } // down
  if (sensorReading2 > 800) { tilt.step(-2); } // up

}

thanks for your help

but i need help adding serial commands to it so i can transmit from one arduino to another for remote control of motors.

Transmit how? How are the Arduino's connected?

Basically, the process is EXACTLY the same as transferring the data to the Serial Monitor, and there are billions of examples of how to do THAT around.

Via xbee radios

http://gravitech.us/xbadforarna.html is the sheild im using with an adduino nano and xbees

...is the sheild im using with an adduino nano and xbees

With that device, and properly configured XBees, it is a direct replacement for a wire. You'd program the Arduinos just as if they had a wire connecting them.

That makes a little bit of sense but how you structure the code for the transmitter an receiver ? sorry am a complete noob when it comes to coding...

thanks

sorry am a complete noob when it comes to coding...