Need help getting started.

So I am new to all this. I grew up in a techknology filled home, so I am comfortable around tech. However when it comes to controllers and programming I'm as fresh as they come, kinda..

I have a project I thought up to solve a problem, and need help figuring out what I will need to make it work. The goal is to move a device (roughly 6 pounds) that gets plugged in via USB when it gets turned on, and then again when it gets turned off. I need a way of monitoring that USB port (externally. Maybe with some sort of UBS passthrough cable) and then telling a motor to run for a set amount of time at a set speed. Again both when it gets power/data sent too it and again when power and data stop.

What will I need?! please any help would be greatly appreciated!

Rather than using timers you should probably put in limit switches to detect the start and stop positions.

How will your motor be powered? USB doesn't supply much (5V at 500mA is 2.5 Watts).

Does the device have a pilot light that could be used to detect being ON and OFF?

I had thought about using start stop switches. However this device is more on the sensitive side and I would prefere the movement of the motor to be programmed to ease in and ease out instead of coming to a sudden stop.

Also I had planned to give power to this knowing that USB wouldn't provide enough.

It does have an indicator light. However I would like to keep the modifications of the device itself to a minimal. All I want to do is make a stand that I can put this device on and have it work independently.

If I wanted to do this I would consider a sense resistor (1 ohm?) in the ground line of the USB and measuring the voltage across that resistor to sense a current draw. For example if the device draws 50mA when ON there would be a 50mV drop across the 1 Ohm resistor. Using the internal 1.1V analog reference you should be able to sense 50mV easily enough.