Light-Color-Sensor-I2C-16-bit-RGBW

Hi all

I have bought Arduino UNO and a light color sensor.
I have never used Arduino before and have tried some examples but not sure what to do now.
I want to use the sensor to only recognise one specific frequensy, and in order to do that I have also a green filter that will only allow my desired frequensies.

Any feedback is more than welcome :slight_smile:
I think I have attaeched it correct as I get some results when I try the examples, but how do I change/write a program that do what I want?
I want the Arduino to check constantly and when the correct frequensy occurs I want it to give me a signal. So far I have not been able to get it to tell me any frequensies :frowning:

Regards
Martin

Do you really need the colour filter? The colour sensor should return the frequency of the light (reflected) from the object you want to measure. Putting a filter in front theoretically limits the sensor to a percentage yes/no for the masked frequency but if the light source used to measure with does not contain this frequency then the result would always be no.
You could probably just use an LDR with the filter fitted.

Link to data sheet of the sensor?

Hi Riva

Maybee not, but first we need to get it working :slight_smile:

Hi Magician

Here it is
http://www.ams.com/eng/Products/Light-Sensors/Color-Sensor/TCS3414

Regards
Martin

I want the Arduino to check constantly and when the correct frequensy occurs I want it to give me a signal.

This what I thought, sensor light-to-frequency. But after visiting product web-page, it turns out it's Not the case. Sensor outputs digital stream I2C format, basically you need to write a software DRIVER for arduino to communicate with device. Task is too complex even for experienced programmers, definitely not for beginners. Your hope only too google if someone already create a library, for exactly same sensor or something close in hardware - software implementation.

Hi again Magician