RC Car with proximity sensor

Hi guys! I'm a college student who is doing a project on making a car that can slows down automatically when it senses an obstacle in front. Basically I will fit a proximity sensor at the front of a small/mid sized RC car. The power of the RC car will be cut off to simulate braking in real life when the sensor detects an object in certain distance.

Since I'm new to Arduino, is it possible for me to do this project using Arduino?

Suggestions are welcome :slight_smile:

yes, it is realy easy. take a look at some tutorial using a sonar sensor (PING).

Have a look at http://www.instructables.com/id/Getting-started-with-the-Maxbotix-sonar-sensor-q/

even if I connect the arduino to the circuit board found in an electric-driven RC car?

I think you'll find it easier to use an RC car with an RC system made up of discrete receiver, servos and speed control rather than the all-in-one thing that cheap toys tend to use.

You can either feed the PWM signal for the speed controller through the Arduino (have it measure the pulse width and then generate its own output) so that you have full control over the speed, or just put a relay in the line to the motor so that the Arduino can cut it off when it wants to. Full control seems more elegant but would need more code. Nothing especially difficult either way.

Hi,

that car has a simple chip that provides on off control of the motor only. You could build your project as simply as connecting an op amp acting as a comparator on the sensor output. Basically you could use the comparator to keep the car running as long as the sensor reads above or below a threshold value.

If you want to go the route of a full blown proportional rc car, check out my blog for some ideas of how this can be interfaced with arduino.

rcarduino.blogspot.com

Duane B

Hi DuaneB,