Anyone in Phoenix Arizona?

I'm just starting out trying to learn, having some issues but trying to figure them out. I'd like to see if anything can be started or done in Phoenix for newbies... I went to the Highschools near me they dont even offer electronics as a class or as part of a science cirriculium.... What the hell....

I have a radio shack store that i've been talking to the owner, and may be able to setup some discounts or something. Just looking for a possible mentor or something.

Thanx Lyght

Well, I'm here in Phoenix, and I know there are a few other guys in/near the area (I guess if you count the back 40 of Tuscon "near").

I haven't visited in a long time, but I came here to Phoenix via going to a school called "High Tech Institute", they are now called "Anthem College" and are on the corner (roughly - a little west of, actually) of Indian School and 16th Street. I don't know if they still offer the course I took in 1991-92 called "Computer Electronics", but that's where I got my start.

You could also contact the DeVry campus; they used to have a similar course (though more focused on the business end). There also used to be (not sure if they are still around) an ITT Tech School here. You also have the ASU campuses, as well as the various community colleges.

Just to let you know, I am 37 years old, and I am not really looking to mentor somebody, but if you need a pointer or something now and then, just post on these forums, and I will usually answer if I know something (sometimes even if I don't!) or PM me.

You can also contact me via my website (see my profile).

As far as parts are concerned - Radio Shack can be useful in a bind, but only if you have no other choice. Your best bet for "new parts needed now" would be to go to Fry's Electronics - there's one in Tempe, as well as one in North Phoenix (I-17 and Thunderbird, roughly).