void setup(void)
{
}

void loop(void)
{
ANEWTYPE x;

doessomething(&x);
}

first of all... the code above gives me the follwoing error in the Arduino environment...

error: variable or field 'doessometing' declared void In function 'void doessometing(ANEWTYPE*)':
In function 'void loop()':

if I changed the function definition of 'doessomething to:

int doessometing(ANEWTYPE *x)
{
x->thing=0;
}

then that particular issue is fixed but then I get the following:

error: 'ANEWTYPE' was not declared in this scope In function 'int doessometing(ANEWTYPE*)':
In function 'void loop()':

So, I have two issues. I am an old time programmer and I have either forgotten something fundamental or done something plain dumb. Please help.

The Arduino IDE automatically generates prototypes for your functions. Unfortunately, this doesn't work for functions whose arguments or return value are types defined in the sketch, since the prototypes get inserted above the type definitions. I'm not sure there's really a good workaround for this.

what about making this as a library? from what i understand, arduino doesnt do much with libraries other than include them.

Hi...

The Arduino IDE automatically generates prototypes for your functions. Unfortunately, this doesn't work for functions whose arguments or return value are types defined in the sketch, since the prototypes get inserted above the type definitions.

Hmmm, this strikes me as a fairly significant issue for more "advanced" use of the IDE--it also makes me think it might explain an issue I had a while back...

I'm not sure there's really a good workaround for this.