Go Down

Topic: Controlling case fans using an Uno r3 (Read 357 times) previous topic - next topic

jmjohnson117

I hope this is the right place to ask this. Just getting started, here. I have an uno r3 on order for my first project, and I'm having trouble finding a good reference on how to make this project work. I'm planning on building an enclosure for an Elekslaser engraver, and I want to be able to use the arduino to:

• Read and display the internal temperature in the box
  • Turn on an LED light strip
  • Turn on two 120mm case fans for intake/exhaust (this is what I'm confused on)

I have a Grove base shield (v1.3) with a temperature sensor and an rgb lcd. That part I have figured out. The light, I don't have yet. But I haven't been able to find a reference or a guide that shows how I can properly connect and control two (or even one) case fan with an arduino. I'm very new to this, but I'm a software developer by day so I feel like I should be able to figure this out with some guidance.

Do I need to connect the fans to a 12v power supply and chain it together to something on the arduino to send a HIGH/LOW signal? Which connector(s) do I ideally need?

For reference, I have two of these on order. 120mm case fans.

pylon

What do you want to achieve? Just turn the fans on and off depending on the temperature? Do you need to check the RPMs of the fans? Do you need to control the RPMs of the fans?

As the fans run on 12V you need a kind of switch. Depending on the answers to above questions this might be a simple relay or you need a circuitry to PWM control the output (so MOSFETs are the best choice).

jmjohnson117