Help with choosing a transistor

Hey everyone,

I have received my Arduino UNO Sparkfun Inv kit a couple of days ago :smiley: yay.

I am new to electronics so try to be nice :wink:

I am making a LED light (probably 10-20 LEDs) that is connected to a motion detector to go in my hallway.I have everything running nice and smooth. The code is done and everything is running just the way I want on my bread board. But its only running 2 LEDs at the moment. The LEDs I will use are red 3volt 120ma diodes and I have read that the transistor (P2N2222A) can take 600ma, but I am not sure if I am understanding things right?

I have been reading about transistors for 30-40 min now and I didn't get much smarter. The data sheets are so hard to read if you don't know all the stuff in them :frowning: All transistors I can find seams to work with really high voltages or with very low amps.

Could someone plz explain some basics and help me to understand what I need to get something that will do the job?

Thanks loads.

David

The data sheets are so hard to read if you don't know all the stuff in them

I'll let you into a secret most of the time you only look at a few of the things.

All transistors I can find seams to work with really high voltages or with very low amps.

Don't confuse the maximum voltages with the working voltage, typically a transistor might have a collector emitter breakdown voltage of 60V but you wouldn't use it at this voltage, it would be fine for using up to 30V or so.
There are only a few things you need to know:-
Transistor type - NPN or PNP
Package type - surface mount or leaded
Collector current - how much they will pass.
Saturation voltage - the voltage across collector / emitter when the transistor is on. This is important for seeing how much current you can really pass through it. Because this will determine how much heat it burns when it is switching a certain current.
Power dissipation - how good the package is at getting rid of heat.