Go Down

Topic: Send MIDI messages to a synthesizer (Read 229 times) previous topic - next topic

Pedropepe

Hello, I'm a novice with little knowledge of programming and I'm trying to build a simple digital flute with an Arduino Uno board and some sensors connected to its digital pins. The goal is to send the signal from the sensors to a MIDI synthesizer on the PC.
With the code that is attached, when executing it, it gives not errors, but notes are executed randomly, without any pulsation in the sensors. Would you be so kind to guide me to correct my mistakes? Thank you

Code:

slipstick

That code is really difficult to read with loads of statements all on a single line. Why do you define all those global b2,b3 etc.variables and then define new versions of them all inside loop()?

Some idea of what hardware you're using would be helpful. But if you're using Serial to write the MIDI via a standard MIDI Out circuit and 5-pin DIN cable to a synth or similar then it should be Serial.begin(31250). That's the standard rate that MIDI always works at.

I have no idea if the button combinations are correct but it looks as if it should do something. Since you don't have any equivalent of breath control presumably it is permanently playing one note or another. I guess this is just an early test is it?

Steve

Grumpy_Mike

but notes are executed randomly,
Sounds like a floating input to me.
How are the switches wired up?

The correct way to wire up a switch / push button is between the input and ground. The enable the internal pull up resistors with a
Code: [Select]
pinMode(pin,INPUT_PULLUP);
call in the setup function.

Pedropepe

That code is really difficult to read with loads of statements all on a single line. Why do you define all those global b2,b3 etc.variables and then define new versions of them all inside loop()?