Advice needed on project involving wireless accelerometer data transmission

Hi all,

I am new to arduino and i must say that the sheer amount of modules is overwhelming. Before i spend too much money on modules i don't fully need i wanted to ask you for advice.

For my thesis project i need to capture accelerometer data from persons when they are in conversation. Since the conversations will be on the street I need the data transmitted wirelessly.

First of all i need 6 accelerometers. I won't need a gyroscope per se, so i go for: http://iprototype.nl/products/components/sensors/ADXL345

The data from the accelerometer i need to read with an arduino board, as i understand from http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ADXL3xx. What is the difference between the Duemilanove and the Arduino Uno? Except for the price?

Then i need to send this data to my laptop, for monitoring and storing. This i can do by usb cables but i prefer a wireless connection. Herefore i would need a wireless Xbee shield, is this correct? Or are there other options such as the arduino Bluetooth Board? But the BT board is quite expensive and i don't think i will use its full potential. I read that an XBee shield is the best value option, see http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoWirelessShield. But do i need a receiving unit as well? And if yes, would i need 6 or can just 1 receiver work for all accelerometers?
Also, would the Xbee requiere that there is a wifi connection available?

Please share your thoughts on this!

bye
jorrit

What is the difference between the Duemilanove and the Arduino Uno? Except for the price?

The type of USB-to-serial converter chip. Does it matter? Probably not.

Herefore i would need a wireless Xbee shield, is this correct?

An an XBee to put on the shield.

But do i need a receiving unit as well?

Yes.

And if yes, would i need 6 or can just 1 receiver work for all accelerometers?