Moving in and out of a do while loop?

I have an IR remote (0 - 9, up, down, left, and right) and I've got a receiver wired up to a few RGB LEDs. The on / off stuff works but the custom sequences I've made only do one round and then stop.

Is there any examples on going into a do while loop and then breaking it when another event happens?

I tried posting all of the code but it exceeded the maximum characters.

I tried posting all of the code but it exceeded the maximum characters.

You can attach it to the post. Click on "Additional Options..." below the text entry box.

See it now. Here you go.

arduinorgbled.txt (14.6 KB)

Is there any examples on going into a do while loop and then breaking it when another event happens?

First, explain why you want to use a do/while construct. I've been writing C and C++ code for 25 years, and never used one. Plenty of while loops, but no do/while loops.

A while loop keeps executing until some condition is true or until something in the while loop causes a break.

So, yes, you could use a while loop to execute functions over and over, exiting when a new IR event occurred. Simple call irrecv.decode() in the while loop, and break if it returns true.

You could change your loop function, too. Separate the test for, and decoding of, the IR event from the use of the decoded value.

In the cases where you want to do something only once, set results.value to 0. In the other cases, don't change results.value.

Then, each pass through loop, the action triggered by the last IR event will be repeated, unless the event value was changed to 0.

PaulS:
So, yes, you could use a while loop to execute functions over and over, exiting when a new IR event occurred. Simple call irrecv.decode() in the while loop, and break if it returns true.

You could change your loop function, too. Separate the test for, and decoding of, the IR event from the use of the decoded value.