(Trying to) develop a speed servo using Arduino due & arduino motor shield R3

Hi all,

I'm trying to develop a simple "software speed servo controller" for a hobby car.

Te motor is a hobby DC one with an encoder (10 teeth) mounted on the shaft. I've had trouble when the speed is above 60 - 70 rpm, for the time measured in between teeth starts (randomly?) giving intervals much shorter than expected. The minimum interval -for a speed of 150 rpm- is 40 mS which, I think, the arduino due should be capable enough to handle.

As I'm a novice (not in programming neither in engineering) in the arduino realm, I've looking for something similar in the forum, and found this piece of code:

const int sensorPin = 2;
const int ledPin = 13;
const int sensorInterrupt = 4;
const int timeoutValue = 5;

volatile unsigned long lastPulseTime;
volatile unsigned long interval = 0;
volatile int timeoutCounter;

bool blink = false;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(sensorPin, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(sensorPin, HIGH);    // enable internal pullup (if Hall sensor needs it)
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  attachInterrupt(sensorInterrupt, sensorIsr, RISING);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  lastPulseTime = micros();
  timeoutCounter = 0;
}

void sensorIsr()
{
  unsigned long now = micros();
  interval = now - lastPulseTime;
  lastPulseTime = now;
  timeoutCounter = timeoutValue;
}

void loop()
{
//  Serial.print("Sensor ");
//  Serial.print(digitalRead(sensorPin) == HIGH ? 'H' : 'L');
  Serial.print(" RPM ");
  if (timeoutCounter != 0)
  {
    --timeoutCounter;
    float rpm = 60e6/(float)interval;
    Serial.print(rpm, 1);
  }
  Serial.println();
  delay(500);
  blink = !blink;
  digitalWrite(ledPin, blink ? HIGH : LOW);
}

posted, long time ago, by dc42 (in fact, the only modification is the interrupt pin -const int sensorInterrupt). The code runs fine , but having exactly the same problem (at exactly the same speed).