LED display schematic

I've been trying to make a schematic for a possible LED display, it involves a 74HC595 shift register and a 4017 decade counter to make images using persistence of vision. It's not clear in the picture but I'll use 68 Ohms resistors. My question is will this work and do I need resistors for the transistor?

P.s. It's my first time using fritzing so advice would be helpfull
Thank you

ameertg:
It's not clear in the picture ...

Nothing is clear from that picture!

ameertg:
My question is will this work ...

Sorry, can't answer that one.

ameertg:
... do I need resistors for the transistor?

Yes you do.

You also need to research the forward voltage drop of your chosen LEDs.

Not bad for a fritzing schematic, from posts we have seen I didn't even think that was possible.
The 4017 symbol is crap, can't tell what the different pins are.
You also need a 0.1uF cap to Gnd on the Vcc pin of each device.

Anyway, the design won't work. LEDs in series like that will need 12-15V to turn them all on. 74HC595 cannot supply that.
If you have a 12V to 15V source, you can use the '595 to drive NPN transistors that can pull the base of PNP transistors low to source current into the LED anodes.

Your design would need this:

If you look at this datasheet

You can see the similarity to what I drew.
Unfortunately this has a 2V drop across the outputs as its intended for higher current, and you only need 20mA.

This part would do great with a 12V supply.
Can source 24mA, Vout will be at least 11V.
No clock or latch needed, data is detected off the Data pin, at a slow 24Kbps rate, so something a little different would need to be written up to send the data out.

I don't know why I can't find an open source shift register.

I think the decade counter has a maximum forward voltage of 16v so if I switch it's place with the '595 will it work? Just to save on a few transistors.

How will that help? Decade counter only has 1 output high at a time.