Logging 12VDC pulses from meters

I'll start by saying that I have no idea what I'm doing, and I'm hoping you guys can give me some direction. I'm a software developer but have minimal experience with electronics.

My father runs a small Campground and has 15 individual kWh meters (luckily contained within the same enclosure) that are each hooked their own electromechanical counter:

Kubler K46 Electromechanical Micro-Counter @ 10 Hz count frequency

According to the documentation from the meters, the voltage into these counters is 12VDC.

Right now my father has to go and note the values of each of the meters at 3 points in the day... every day. He has never complained, but I feel this can be somehow automated.

Now my question is, what kind of board would I need to accept these pulses as input for logging purposes? It seems 12V is within the input range of the Duemilanove, so would this be able to do the job? If so, how many pins on the board could I use for this pupose? 14?

Sorry for the amateur questions, and would appreciate any suggestions/direction I can get :slight_smile: Thanks!

For those joining in here is the data sheet for the electromechanical counter:
http://www.kuebler.com/PDFs/leaflet/zaehler/english/K46-K47_en.pdf

Yes, gprime, this interface is easily doable.

We probably dont wanna send a software guy to scout out how these 12v pulses are generated and whether they are isolated, or have a common ground, etc. So I will base an interface solution on opto isolators.

If youre not into soldering you can buy standard industrial grade "DC Input Modules" which are the same opto-isolators with the other curcuitry already packaged.
http://www.opto22.com/site/pr_details.aspx?cid=4&item=IDC5D They cost $10 to $15 each, or if you prefer we can help you "roll your own" for about half or less.

Can you tell us how often these pulses happen and what is the minimum duration of a pulse?

Heres a rough draft of what you need