How to determine sensor is compatible with Arduino UNO?

Hi all,

i'm new to arduino and would like to know how you can determine that a sensor is compatible with an arduino board.

I would like to purchase http://export.farnell.com/invensense/itg-3200/ic-gyro-tri-axis-2000-deg-s/dp/1858279RL but i'm not sure whether it works.

EDIT:

my search has brought me some understanding but has raised several questions more:

In another topic (http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,104951.0.html) about which sensors can be directly connected to the arduino UNO, krodal states:

Krodal:
It's not hard. The only problem is that most sensors use 3.3V. But the Arduino has 3.3V onboard for those sensors.

The accelerometer i want to use in my project runs on 3V (http://www.bosch-sensortec.com/content/language1/downloads/BMA150_Flyer_Rev1.3_14JAN2008.pdf)

I was in the understanding that i could not use this sensor directly on the arduino UNO since the arduino runs on 5V (and it would fry the sensor). But if you look at the arduino picture:

You see that at the bottom there is indeed a pin which states 3.3V. Does this mean that the board can run on 3.3v as well, or what is the pin for?

in the tutorial on arduino.cc (http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ADXL3xx) it says that the example uses the breakoutboard from sparkfun. SparkFun Evaluation Board - ADXL345 - SEN-09814 - SparkFun Electronics But it seems that even that board requieres 3.3V. How can they manage?

Thank you,

Jorrit
(i've also put this question in the topic list)

Please advice and explain!

Thank you

arduino can do I2C:

But you'll need an I2C level-converter to 3.3V unless the Arduino is running on 3.3V

Thanks for the reply. one more question though:

How can i determine, in general terms, which sensors i can use without any converters? The datasheets overwhelm me somewhat since i'm not very technical. But a hint on what i should look for is very much appriciated!

digikey allows to search for certain parameters: