Eye blink rate using Arduino

Hi

I have a question and I hope to get useful answer

I'm working on a project to detect eye blink rate , can I do this using Arduino ? I'm new to this and I need some information

Regards

Hi,
The arduino can count, but it depends on what you want to use to detect the blink.
The arduino needs a sensor connected to it that signals the blink.

What is the application?

Tom.... :slight_smile:

Well, you need something to hold a sensor stably near an eye, so let's start with the frames of a pair of glasses.
Now the eye lash moves vertically, so breaking a beam of light (IR, optical, UV) makes sense. You could mount a little light emitter at the outboard side, but mounting a sensor on the other side, up against a nose, doesn't seem practical. So perhaps you just mount a reflector there, and read the interruption of the round trip part on an appropriately aligned sensor at the outboard side, with the light source.

Good luck, it's an ergonomically challenging project.

I believe there is facial recognition software which can monitor eye blinks. I'm not sure, but I thought I saw the eye blink software used with a Raspberry Pi.

Thanks for the answers . the application is to detect user blink rate and some processing on the result.

Is it possible for example to have IR sensor or EOG sensor on eye glass that send data by Bluetooth or WiFi to arduino or

raspberry pi for processing?

Thanks again

Hi,
The IR sensor is a good idea, I know that a lot of heat is emitted by the eyeball, but not sure how little it drops to in a blink.
Check the response time of an IR sensor/transistor and see.

Tom...... :slight_smile:

TomGeorge:
The IR sensor is a good idea, I know that a lot of heat is emitted by the eyeball, but not sure how little it drops to in a blink.
Check the response time of an IR sensor/transistor and see.

Most IR used with electronics is near IR. This is not heat.