Chronograph...

I'd like to measure the velocity of a projectile, but I'm not sure how I'd do it.
I've been researching for the past few hours, and pretty much all of the results seem to be using an LED and either a photoresistor or a phototransistor but it is also mentioned several times that these are too slow.
Would a photodiode work instead? There are a few results with them, and I haven't seen any one report any speed issues.

Would this be possible? I'd like to measure speeds of 200~500 FPS, and plan on using an Arduino Nano v3.0. I don't actually physically have one yet, as I'd like to know if what I want to do is possible before committing any money to it.

I have no experience with an Arduino, and little experience with hardware in general, but I'm fairly familiar with C and C++, and this seems like a reasonably simple first project.

Thanks!

Much depends upon your requirements for precision and repeatability, and how far apart your photosensors can be. In practice, however, achieving 500fps with a photodiode circuit is entirely doable, using careful component choices (we've done it :wink: )

There's no reason why you couldn't do it with an Arduino Nano, though the clock speed and photodiode spacing trade off to determine resolution. The faster the clock speed of your processor, the closer together you can space your photodiodes to achieve the same resolution.

A lot also depends upon whether or not you can constrain the projectile path (inside a tube, e.g.), or whether you need to sense over a relatively large area (e.g., a firearm speed trap).

--
The Rugged Motor Driver: two H-bridges, more power than an L298, fully protected

I plan on mounting two pairs of photodiodes and LEDs six inches apart inside a PVC pipe.

So I'd need:
1x Arduino Nano
1x LCD display
2x IR LED
2x Photodiode

Do I need anything else? It seems a bit too simple, haha.
If anybody could point me towards a specific model of any of the parts that'd work, that'd be really cool, too!