Forgoing voltage regulator

I'm a beginner at electronics, and I'm building Arduino based clock. I had some issue with voltage regulators. Linear are very inefficient and generate lots heat (which interferes with thermal sensor that clock have). Switching regulators are expensive and add complexity to PCB. Is it so bad to just provide 5 Volt switching power adapter that will power everything? Quality wall warts cost $5-6. What do you think? Am I doing a foolish thing here? Maybe there's some kind of simple over-voltage/current protection I can add just as extra insurance?

P.S. not sure if it's important, whole clock thing takes about 200-300mA of current.

One option: go with 1A wallwart, cut the end off a USB cablle and connect to the board that way.
http://www.dipmicro.com/store/DCA-0510

2nd option: use a 7.5V adapter into the barrel jack, the onboard regulator doesn't generate lots of heat creating just 300mA of current from a lower voltage source.
http://www.dipmicro.com/store/DCA-07510

CrossRoads:
One option: go with 1A wallwart, cut the end off a USB cablle and connect to the board that way.
Switching DC Wall Power Adapter 5V / 1A - dipmicro electronics

2nd option: use a 7.5V adapter into the barrel jack, the onboard regulator doesn't generate lots of heat creating just 300mA of current from a lower voltage source.
Switching DC Wall Power Adapter 7.5V / 1A - dipmicro electronics

Thanks! For the 1st option I can just use barrel DC jack right? What would be the reason to use USB jack?

No, for the Barrel Jack you need 7.5V to overcome the reverse polarity protection diode voltage drop and to give the regulator enough voltage to regulate down to 5V.

With 5V into the USB connector, the voltage only goes thru the autopower select FET, same as if you'd been powering the board from a PC.

Or, you can connect 5V to the 5V header; be sure to put a 1N4001 diode from 5V (anode) to Vin (cathode) to protect the regulator.
See Figure 25, page 10 of attached.