Can it be done... Arduino-based full Digital Auto Instrument Cluster

Hi. I'm new to this microcontroller stuff, and haven't done much in the way of programming other than a couple of simple programs for a graphing calculator years ago. However, when it comes to automotive, there isn't much I can't do...

Which is why I want to replace my 25-year old analog instrument cluster with a nice new set of LED gauges. First off, I KNOW someone is going to suggest an LCD display. My dash has 4 gauge holes with six gauges in it (2 large for tach and speedometer and 2 small in each of the other holes) that are approximately 4" in diameter (US English here, don't need or want metric), and I don't have room for a reasonably sized LCD display, plus I would need something to fill the other 3 holes. Yes, I know there are prefab gauges out there, but none for my application. I'm looking for a combination of 7-segment displays and single LEDs that act as a bar graph, similar to the analog gauges.
I have been researching this for a couple of years now, and purchased a couple "books" with schematics for a decent set of gauges. The only problem, however, is that there are what seems to be WAY too many chips involved. I'm trying to keep my costs as small as possible, because anything over about $4-500, and I might as well get the pre-fab universal gauge set and trim it to fit in my stock cluster housing. Not to mention I would like to run an LED odometer, 7 digits, and the schematics in the books provide for a power loss of 10 days. Which doesn't help if I want to take the car off the road and disconnect the battery for 6 months. I have done a couple of searches, and found something called the "Multidisplay", built by a member here. Problem with that is that it's run using an LCD, for one, and doesn't include all of the gauges I'd like to see, for 2.
My current gauges are as follows:
8-18 VDC voltmeter, would like to have a 10-LED bar graph and a 3-digit (volts, tenths, and decimal) LED