Using an STK500 as a standalone Arduino Board

Hello.

I am relatively new to AVR development, and I recently happened upon the Arduino project. I am curious to know if it is possible to put an ATMega8 in my STK500, and use the Arduino IDE to interface the ATMega8, without buying a fully built Arduino board. I have successfully uploaded the bootloader by following these instructions. But when I try to upload sketches through the Arduino IDE, I get nothing but "programmer not responding" errors. After reviewing the Arduino schematics, I don't see why this shouldn't work. I have a feeling that all I need is the right settings on the STK500. I know that the Arduino hardware requires a 16 Mhz external crystal, but can't the STK500 supply the clock source it needs? Or will I need to put an actual crystal in the "crystal" slot on the STK500? If I need to put in an external crystal, does the STK500 supply the 20 pF capacitors that usually accompany the crystal? Thanks in advance for your help. Talk to you soon.

-Jay

I'm guessing you need to supply your own crystal, and make sure the jumpers and other pins are set appropriately to connect it to your ATmega.

Mellis,

Thanks for the reply. I will give the crystal a try. I'll post my progress tomorrow after I get the crystal. Talk to you then.

-Jay

I have done this with both a mega8 and mega168. You'll need to read the stk500 manual on jumpers and crystals.

The only tricky thing is that if you are not using a mega8 that has the arduino bootloader already loaded you'll need to use the programming serial port for downloading the bootloader.

After the bootloader is successfully installed you'll need to switch over to the "spare" serial port for using the arduino environment for programming the chip. Just remember to install the jumpers that connect the spare serial port to the appropriate pins on the mega8--check the arduino schematic.

Can someone give me the step by step on how to use atmega8 with STK500 ?