Need help getting IR sensor to trigger Servo motor

Hi, I'm relatively new to arduino and coding, I picked it up as an interest and so far I've been enjoying it even though it's been pretty basic stuff. Now I've wanted to try something more advanced/tricky. I want to use a Sharp GP2Y0A21YK IR Proximity sensor to trigger two continuous servo motors (Parallax). I've managed to get the two servo's moving in one direction, but i have no clue where to start or if im doing something wrong.

This is what I have so far:
#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;
Servo myservo2;

int pos = 0;

void setup(){
myservo.attach(12);
myservo2.attach(4);
}

void loop(){
for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos+=1){
myservo.write(pos);
delay(15);}

for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos-=1){
myservo2.write(pos);
delay(15);}
}

If someone would be kind enough to point this clueless newbie (me) in the right direction it would be much appreciated.

You haven't declared your Sharp sensor or its interface - how do you expect it to trigger anything?

WEll assuming the sensor is analog type you need to do something like this

#define sharp 0 
main()
{
sharp(//set as input)
}
loop
{
analog read ( sharp ) 
if (//value <> something )
{
action
}

this is the pseudo code

• hope it helps :slight_smile:

...but without the 'main'

...but without the 'main'

? :-?

(the one in your example 'pseudo code')

Sorry but i cant get you what do you exactly mean ?
the pseudo code shouldnt include then main ?

This is Arduinoland - what is 'main'?

Oops i forgot
[edit]
main = void setup ()[/edit]
:slight_smile:

I figured that's what main was. thanks though. I tried the pseudo-code out but i couldnt get it to work, like servos move foward and everything but it wont respond to the sensor. might be a hardware issue i guess? either that or im messing up somewhere.

tried the pseudo-code out but i couldnt get it to work

well the pseudo code isnt ment to work :wink: post your code and someone will help you out :slight_smile: