Joystick Servo Control... for newbies.

Hello. I have a project whereby a servo needs to be controlled by a joystick, and I'm wondering if an Arduino could be used here.

I saw this guide: http://teamprincipia.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/arduino-python-4-axis-servo-control/ (and the previous 2 articles on the site as well) which explain how to connect a joystick to a PC, and then connect a servo to an Arduino and get some Python code to tie it all together. This is almost exactly what I need... but with no PC in the loop.

I've seen this forum post: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,5080.msg38890.html#msg38890 but the conversation kinda drifted off in other directions.

I'm really really new to this, but can I use a USB host shield to connect the joystick to the Arduino, then store some code on the Arduino that will let me do what I want?

Any tips/suggestions gratefully received!

Does it have to be a USB joystick? It's generally easier to interface to a raw joystick potentiometer than to go through USB.

I would suggest you connect the joystick potentiometer directly to the Arduino analog input (and the ground and 5V rails) and use analogRead to determine the joystick position, map/convert that to a servo position however you want, and then use the Servo library to putput the corresponding servo PWM pulse.

Of course you could use an ordinary hobby RC system, and control it via radio using perfectly ordinary off-the-shelf systems.

The servo "knob" code example in the arduino IDE should be of interest for basic joystick learning.

Hi WelshGuy,

I agree with the them all.

Most of these would work: http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StoreCatalogDrillDownView?langId=-1&storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&search_type=jamecoall&freeText=Joystick

I wouldn't make the project any more complicated than that. The USB approach is overkill for what you're trying to do. Besides... You can buy some new components!

Pat.

I agree.