Shortcut to control 110v Linear Actuator with UNO? Need advice on next steps

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to Arduino and anxiously discovering all it has to offer.

I have a basic idea on how to lay out my projects but hit a wall when it comes to choosing the right components (and doing so safely when it comes to things that plug into the wall).

What I'm trying to do is control a simple 12v linear actuator (no built in potentiometer) with my Arduino UNO.

See the attached image for visuals! -> http://i.imgur.com/iEM3coK.jpg

The 12v linear actuator is rated for 200lbs and it came with it's own control box and basic remote that plugs into the wall.

Instead of worrying about an H bridge or dc motor shield, I figure I can make use of the control box as the power supply, and hack apart the basic remote control and interface it with the UNO.

Where I hit a wall is how to rig up the circuit where the UNO can send the HIGH/LOW (UP/DOWN) commands to the actuator control box through the remote control input wires. The remote is very simple and the up/down actuation comes from just reversing the actuator motor's polarity.

The remote has 3 wires: UP/DOWN/COMMON. I believe the common wire is the ground? Touching the UP wire to the COMMON completes the switch circuit and sends a command to the control box to move the actuator UP. DOWN wire to COMMON wire moves the actuator down. I believe there might be end-stop switches inside the actuator itself because it automatically stops the motor when fully extended or retracted.

When plugged in, the voltage across the remote's switch terminals is 17.3v.

Do I need a 2 channel 5v relay? Two single channel 5v relays? Two Transistors, and if so which specs? Diodes/Resistors? Any guidance on parts I need or circuit wiring suggestions is very much appreciated.

Budget isn't really a problem for the minor components.