Using values from 9DOF Razor in Arduino Mega

I hope someone can help, I am a bit of a novice with this stuff.

We are currently in the middle of a project and are using the Sparkfun Razor 9DOF IMU to calculate angles of rotation. The plan is for these angles in the X, Y, Z directions to be used to fire motors, sort of an attitude correction system.

We have used the code availible from the link on the sparkfun website that from what I see is commonly used, this is programmed on the Razor, at this stage we are now reading this angle data through the serial monitor on the arduino in the form given by that code of:

ANG! 20.00, 30.00, 10.00 (where 20, 30, 10 etc are example angles)

My question, which may make me sound very simplistic I am aware, is how we get the arduino board to recognise these angles so that we can apply conditions that will start or stop the motors, e.g if the angle in the x axis (in this example 20.00) is greater than 10 degrees turn on pin 1 and 2 etc.
Is there a way for the arduino to recognise these values independently, knowing that one will be for pitch, one for roll and one for yaw.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Chris

I think you could connect the Mega and the Razor through their serial connections (RX<->TX, TX<->RX) and then on the Arduino you have to read the data coming from the Razor, parsing them into yaw, pitch, roll.

Thanks for the reply.

Yeh I have got that far, I created just a simple read program that is displaying the serial data in the form shown previously. My problem is that I am a complete novice to this, how do I go about getting the arduino to recognize the data as three seperate things that I can then use.

Chris

You should code on the Arduino using Serial.read() (check documentation Serial.read() - Arduino Reference and the example there).

Supposing you are receiving a line like:

ANG! 20.00, 30.00, 10.00

Then I would do something like:

void loop() {

// send data only when you receive data: