Stepper Motor, with no data sheets available

Please bare with me as this is my first time on board.

I have a couple of stepper motors that I removed from an old Epson printer that i wish to experiment with on my Adruino Mega 2560 R3 board. my problem is I can't find any data sheets for this motor, it is a STP-42D163 from Shinano Kinshi co. Does anyone have experience with this motor?

The motor is probably intended to run on somewhere between 5 to 12 volts.

To start, describe how many wires there are, and if you can, measure and post the resistance between all pairs. The lowest value is the coil resistance and that will give an important clue as to its current requirements.

the motor has four wires, 1 blue and 3 gray

Well, that is one nugget of information.

If you are interested in using motors and do not know how to measure the winding resistances, or don't have access to a multimeter, now is the time to get one and learn how to use it. A multimeter is an essential piece of test equipment and an extremely valuable learning tool.

Here is that other nugget of info

I measured between the following wires with wire 1 being the blue wire
wires 1 & 3 = 8.5 ohms
wires 2 & 4 = 8.5 ohms

Well those are the phases, the wires with the resistance that is.... each of those two pairs is one half of the motor.

So if you take some power, say 12v as a guess, and put it across one phase you'll get the motor to a certain point. Then put the volts on the other phase, guessing the polarity, then the motor might step. If it doesn't reverse that polarity. Then put the power back on the first phase, with polarity reversed from the first time, it'll step again. Finally back to phase two, but reversed from the second step.... mess around for a while and you'll see you'll get the motor moving with that manual application of power.

You might get this for example:

1  2  3  4
+     -
    +     -
-     +
   -      +

Thank you for the info I do appreciate it,