Need some help.

Hi, im new to the arduino, but i have read up on the arduino, and i plan to start an animatronics project using the arduino. Im trying to make a biped robot. I plan to use a RS-7250 SBC connected to an arduino(s) witch connect to many digital servos. I need up to 20-24 servos. Also i will connect up 1 gyro and 1 accelerometer. I was wandering if someone would give me a rough idea of how this could lay out. If i could get all the servos to work on one digital line or would i need 3 to 4 arduino's connected to the SBC with 5-10 servos per a arduino. I could really use some help. Thanks.

Although others may have their own opinions, I think that for so many servos you should offload that part of the work to a dedicated controller like this:

http://www.lynxmotion.com/Product.aspx?productID=395

Controls up to 32 servos, takes commands over serial.

Keeping 24 servos updated will eat up a lot of your computational effort. Also the wiring will be messy - the SSC-32 handles the servos for you and the wiring is already dones.

Of course there is satisfaction in doing it all yourself from scratch, and if that's the way you go make sure you let everyone know how!

You could offload the driving of 20+ servos to one or two arduinos but it would take some tricky programming with interrupts and timers to get it going. The device linked by trialex seems a good way to go. btw, that board does look like it uses the same chip as the arduino :wink:

Google for 'OpenServo' and see if that might be of help.

It consists of an open hardware/software solution to convert a regular servo into a digital servo, but the result can be controlled over I2C, not just the good old pulse duration method.

This means you could give each servo its own address on the I2C bus and control them all with just two pins (analog 4 and 5, can't be changed cuz linked to hardware I2C on the atmel chip).