need advice: what is a good Arduino for me to start

I use PICs for a number of years, recently changed to Hitech C, trying to avoid assembly when possible.

However, I am also working at single board computer designs based on CPUs.
I am considering Motorola (Freescale) MCUs as well.

Recently I started a PIC project, a small binary matrix clock, also having a small LCD,
I2c RTC, and 1.2 volts supply. I finished it relatively quickly, even if it was the first time using Hitech C.

So I am not a total beginner looking for supporting onboard voltage regulators (I'd buld them myself).

Do you have any concrete product suggestion, what would be the right Arduino model for me, to do something cool and interesting, that I could also do using some PIC, but using Atmel chip, it would be more comfortably , easier, etc.??

I know these Atmel chips have larger program memories, where small PICs usually have 2K or 4K (tends to become used up rather quick, multiply by 10 is luxury already :slight_smile: (so I'd use BCD, takes more variables space, but saves me from lengthy codes to do multiplication).

Can you link to everything I need to get started? Not neccessarily a ready made PCB but I am not too sure atm.

I do not consider to abandon PICs I am just interested to become more flexible using available chips.

Recently I have downloaded some software from Altera, having around a small CPLD board, not quite sure what to do with it, eventually I want to use it for some sort of address decoding for a single board computer.

On the uno (328P) you have i2c to connect a rtc and lcd (the lcd can be connected directly but i prefer i2c because of the output limitations) also a lot of libs to connect everything.
The voltage will have to be 3,3 or 5v.
Does this answer your question?

Not really. I have PICs also including hardware serial port available, some 18F with USB, some PIC32.

There is a source code for i2c also included in Hitech C.