Need help in selecting XBEE 868 Mhz part

Hi
I need help in choosing an XBEE 868 MHZ part so that I can
solve the following problem. I am new to XBEE..

I have a small farming prototype which I am going to choose
the arduino FIO.

I chose 868 mhz for long range and low transmit power.
my data can be as slow as 1200 baud.

1. I would have 20 Arduino fios with some soil and temperature sensors
    and light level sensors.

3.0 I would like to try to change batteries every 2 months or longer if possible.

3.1 I would be using alkaline batteries
(FIO is limited to 3.3 volt but the FTDI cable is actually providing 5 Volts so 3 D sized
alkaline batteries providing 4.5 volts when new should work? or should it be 4 D
sized providing 6 volts when new?)

1. The Ardunino Fios will be in sleep mode and wake up and transmit their data and go into sleep mode
    every 30 minutes.

4.1 transmission would be turned off when no light is detected using a LDR (nighttime)
if growing lights are turned on, the transmission will start again since I am also
measuring light levels.

1. The main receiver would have a very large battery or is AC powered, like
    a LAPTOP.

I understand XBEE 868 digimesh is a restricted export controlled product.
so I would like to avoid that as much as possible.

I am counting on the long range of the 868 mhz to avoid having to buy
digimesh based products that can self repeat infomation.

My terrian would have some small undulations on it as it is a farm
in a hilly area. Range would be about 1 kilometer square.

Which XBEE 868 model can I choose to make this successful?

Allan

A cheaper option would be the RFM22B which I am presently experimenting with, it can also be set up as a mesh arrangement, but it has evidently about a kilometer range anyway ( I havnt tested the range yet )

There is a library RF22 for it, with examples if simple one way transmission ( which I have working ) to a mesh network.