Some kind of electronic switch

Hey guys,

I'm not sure if this is an unusual one or not but it's the situation i've found myself in.

I need to be able to switch a ground wire on and off on demand. After testing, I know this is the best course of action for what I'm doing and I can see on my bread board that unplugging the ground gives me one function I'm needing and plugging it back in gives me a different function I'm wanting.

What I'm really needing is some kind of switch that when I send a:
digitalWrite(switchPin, HIGH);
it'll complete the circuit leading to the ground pin and when I send a:
digitalWrite(switchPin, LOW);
it'll break the circuit.

I'd thought I could do this with a transistor but so far have had no luck, though it is entirely possible that I'm not doing it correctly, I'm afraid I'm no expert of electronics.

Can anyone help me out here? I'm sure it must be very simple really.

Andy

After testing, I know this is the best course of action for what I'm doing and I can see on my bread board that unplugging the ground gives me one function I'm needing and plugging it back in gives me a different function I'm wanting.

Danger...danger...this does not sound like the right answer. Give us more details and I'm 99% sure we'll be able to give you a better solution :wink:

But, what you want to do is fairly easy. Just use a MOSFET connected something like this:

Q1 can also be any other logic-level MOSFET (the "logic-level" part is important because it means the MOSFET can switch on with only 5V at its gate terminal).

--
The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, speaker, microphone, light sensor, potentiometer, pushbuttons

Thanks, that looks really useful.

I'll try my best to explain, though I have a habit of rambling so forgive me if I confuse you.