What to buy..??

New to the forum: thanks for having me...
I'm a "dabbler" - never been down the Arduino road before - but have experience running solar power panels charging 2 x 150aH AGM batteries to supply 12v power to my caravan appliances, eg lights, compressor fridge, water pump,12v TV and set-top box, radio, the Duchesses hair dryer and my electric blanket (I'm a cold bugger...) The solar system has some expensive big-boy's-toys integrated - MPPT controller, DC/DC charger, etc... so I'm not a novice to schematics or the physical installation of DC wiring and systems... and I do have a working knowledge of Ohm's Law...
At this stage, I'm not contemplating any Arduino/Solar interfacing (though I'm sure there are many applications) - just interested in Arduino as a concept of systems electronics... learning more about it... expanding my interests...
Would this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Starter-Kit-UNO-R3-Step-Motor-Servo-1602-LCD-Breadboard-Jumper-cable-For-Arduino-/281148524291?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item4175c20703 be suitable as a starter kit??

The listing doesn't specify the chip (Atmega 328, 2560 etc) just says UNO R3 - but does say it's a 2012 model...
Would the Chip type/ID/specs make that much difference to a 'dabbler' like me..??
It seems to have enough "projects" to keep me occupied for many a night... and learn a thing-or-two more...
Appreciate any advice from those who already know... :slight_smile:

Sure why not?.....

Thanks for responding:
My view is that the CHIP specs/efficiency isn't important at my level of knowledge...
Who learns to drive in a Porsche or a Lamborghini..??
I'll go ahead and order...
Thanks again...

cjdelphi:
Sure why not?.....

Jedo_03:
Who learns to drive in a Porsche or a Lamborghini..??

Someone whose dad buys him one.

The Uno by definition uses the ATMega328 - which is the "baseline" Arduino chip. Perfect for what you want.

That kit looks good.

Thanks Paul...
I've ordered that kit...