Homemade High Speed Linescan CCD Camera - Need Help

I would like to build my own high speed Line Scan Camera with Arduino Uno board. the commercially available ones are incredibly expensive. Currently my problem with this project isn’t the optics, but the CCD sensor and signal processing part. Please point me to the right direction and tips on building a line scan camera with the following specs detailed in the latter portion of this post. A huge problem is for the past few weeks I couldn’t find the Linear CCD sensors available online. I am a sophomore software engineering major who just stepped into the hardware developing community, I never been into an electronic parts shop/junk yard in my 19 years life.....You don't happen to know a good one around UCSD or the Clairemont / San Diego, CA by any chance? If you do, please post :slight_smile:

What I think I need:

• Linear CCD Sensor
  • CCD sensor driver board
  • CCD Analog to Digital Image processor/ CCD Microprocessor
  • Arduino Uno Board

My budget limit for this project is around $200 goes to the sensor and processor parts excluding the Arduino Uno Board.

I know some of the older (med to high-end?) flatbed scanners uses linear CCD sensors, the scanner that I have and most modern cheapo scanners use CIS. Does anyone have experience using CIS as the sensor in a Line Scan Camera? I took apart the scanning module on my HP Photosmart C4680 and the CIS is way smaller than I thought, not entirely sure how CIS works. From goolging I found plenty of USB Barcode scanners 100+ scan rate that use CCD sensors (or so they claim) from the low $30, and one Line Scan Camera from Parallax that features 128 pixels for under $50, however they don't seem to have the specs that I am looking for. If you have experience tweaking these devices please help, maybe they do have the specs that I'm looking for and all I need to do is to tweak them, which I don't know how.